French May > jean-guihen queyras & hong kong sinfonietta
Jean-Guihen Queyras & Hong Kong Sinfonietta

Jean-Guihen Queyras

Born in Montreal and, between five and eight, living in Algeria, Jean-Guihen Queyras then grew up in France. He studied at Lyon Conservatoire, then at the Musikhochschule Freiburg (where he is now professor) and Mannes College in New York, with Timothy Eddy. His relationship with Boulez started when he worked with the Ensemble InterContemperain in Paris, where he also met Jonathan Harvey. He has subsequently premièred the Cello Concerto by Ivan Fedele. Clemens Schuldt, principal conductor of the Munich Chamber Orchestra (with the Hong Kong Sinfonietta, one of the commissioners of the Thomas Larcher concerto), makes his Hong Kong debut with a typically wide-ranging concert. Jean-Guihen Queyras features in not one, but two concertante works, composed some 250 years apart. Following Haydn’s First Cello Concerto (from the 1760s – although it was only rediscovered in 1961), is a major co-commission between seven orchestras by French composer Thomas Larcher. Ouroboros is named after the ancient symbol which represents the notion of the cyclical in nature, and you can hear Larcher’s musical ideas circulating, re-creating and returning to the original motif, like the ancient image of a serpent holding its tail in its mouth to form an infinite cycle. György Ligeti’s colourful Romanian Concerto opens the concert while Schubert’s poignant Fourth Symphony brings it to a close.

Find out more about Jean-Guihen Queyras
Find out more about Thomas Larcher
Find out more about Clemens Schuldt
Find out more about Hong Kong Sinfonietta

Exclusive Sponsor
10 June 2017, 8pm
Hong Kong City Hall - Concert Hall
5 Edinburgh Place, Central, Hong Kong





Association Culturelle France - Hong Kong Limited

27/F, 1 Des Voeux Road West
Sheung Wan